Five food production standards to consider for your new food factory

When building a new food factory, there are several food production standards you may want to aim for. While BRC (British Retail Consortium) and SALSA (Safe and Local Supplier Approval) are popular standards, there are also others that UK companies can aim for. 

In this article, we'll outline five important food production standards that are worth considering:

1. BRC (British Retail Consortium)

The BRC Global Food Safety Standard is a widely recognised certification that sets out the requirementsfor foodsafety, quality and operational criteria. The current version is BRC Issue 8, which was released in2018. It covers various aspects of food production, including hazard analysis and critical control points(HACCP), quality management systems, site standards and product control. BRC is currently adopted byover 22,000 sites in more than 130 countries around the world.

2. SALSA (Safe and Local Supplier Approval)

SALSA is a food safety standard developed specifically for small and micro-sized food businesses in the UK. It helps ensure that suppliers meet the food safety and legal requirements demanded by buyers in the retail and food service sectors. SALSA certification covers areas such as food safety management systems, product specifications, traceability and hygiene practices.

3. ISO 22000

ISO 22000 is an internationally recognised standard for food safety management systems. It provides a framework for organisations to demonstrate their ability to control food safety hazards, ensure the safety of food products and enhance customer satisfaction. ISO 22000 covers aspects such as HACCP, prerequisite programs, communication and continual improvement

4. FSSC 22000 (Food Safety System Certification)

FSSC 22000 is a GFSI (Global Food Safety Initiative) recognised standard that combines ISO 22000 and additional requirements specific to the food industry. It provides a comprehensive food safety management system certification scheme and is widely accepted by food manufacturers and retailers. The guidelines are designed to help businesses identify, monitor and prevent hazards at any stage of the food chain.

5. SQF (Safe Quality Food)

SQF is another GFSI-recognised standard that focuses on food safety and quality management. It offers a systematic approach to managing food safety risks and quality throughout the supply chain. SQF certification covers HACCP, quality management systems, supplier control and more.

These are just a few of the food production standards available today. Which standard is most appropriate for your new food factory will depend on a variety of factors, such as your location, target market, customer requirements and the nature of your operations. 

If you choose to work with us at Willett Food Projects, we'll ensure your new food factory meets all of the key production standards and regulations. We have the necessary expertise to guide you through the process and help you achieve compliance – contact us to learn more.

Posted by Kirsty on October 27th 2023

Loading... Updating page...